General programme

Wednesday 29 November 2023

08:30 - 09:30


09:30 - 10:45

Creating a level playing field for investments in renewable carbon: Dutch proposal for an EU Industrial Sustainable Carbon Regulation

  • Mr. Karlo van Dam - Director Sustainability Industry Ministry of Economic Affairs & Climate Policy of The Netherlands
  • Ms. Sandra Onwijn- Head of unit Circular Economy  Ministry of Infrastructure & Water Management of The Netherlands
  • Mr. JP Kuijpers - Managing Director EMEA region & Global Transformation Leader Eastman
  • Mr. Martijn Amory - CEO Fibrant
  • Mr. Jeroen Bulk - CFO Ioniqa
  • Mr. Jeroen Verhoeven- Vice President Value Chain Development  Neste Renewable Polymers and Chemicals Neste


  • Ms. Kirsten Paulus (moderator)

11:00 - 12:30

State of play of transition finance in the EU & future outlook – Transition pathway of Chemelot Industrial Park as example

  • Mr. Thomas Schneider - Director CVC Capital Partners
  • Ms. Eila Kreivi - Chief Sustainable Finance Advisor  European Investment Bank / Member of EU Platform on Sustainable Finance
  • Dr. Michiel Scheffer - President European Innovation Council
  • Mr. Luc Arnouts - Vice President International Relations and Networks of Port of Antwerp-Bruges
  • Mr. Karlo van Dam- Director Sustainability Industry at Ministry of Economic Affairs & Climate Policy of The Netherlands


  • Mr. Frans Stokman - Executive Director of Petrochemicals Europe (moderator)



cefic_Colour transparent png

12:30 - 14:00


13:00 - 14:00

Changing the game of waste management and its financing challenge: RWE’s FUREC-project

  • Mr. Loek Radix – Managing Director Chemelot Industrial Park
  • Mr. Denis Aarssen - Project Director FUREC RWE

14:00 - 15:30

Financing energy transition projects within industrial clusters in Europe – case studies on shared infrastructure projects

  • Mr. Marc Borghans - Head of Sustainable Structured Finance ING
  • Mr. Frank Kuijpers - Executive Advisor SABIC
  • Ms. Lia Voermans - President Steering Group Brightlands Circular Space
  • Mr. Jörgen Sandström – Head Transforming Industrial Ecosystems World Economic Forum


  • Mr. Robert Clover - Managing Director Sustainability Strategy & Finance Accenture (moderator)

15:30 - 16:00

Tea break

16:00 - 17:30

Closing the plastic loop and its investment gaps – project experiences & perspectives on the investment needs of plastics recycling

  • Ms. Lia Voermans - Project Coordinator Syschemiq / President Steering Group Brightlands Circular Space /Board Member Brightlands Chemelot Campus
  • Ms. Dorota Pawlucka - Project Coordinator Circular Foam / Vice Chair for Competitiveness of the Advisory and Programming Group A.SPIRE / Global Alliances Manager Covestro
  • Mr. Henk-Jan Vink - Managing Director TNO Energy & Materials Transition TNO
  • Mr. JP Kuijpers - Managing Director EMEA region & Global Transformation Leader Eastman
  • Mr. Ian Freelance - Director Investments Europe & Asia SABIC Ventures
  • Mr. Torben Kabbe - Head of Business Development Interzero
  • Mr. Jürgen Tiedje - Head of Unit Industrial Transformation DG Research & Innovation European Commission
  • Dr. Torsten Heinemann - Head of Group Innovation Covestro


  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Engell – Chair of the A.SPIRE Advisory and Programming Group, Professor of Process Dynamics and Operations, TU Dortmund, Germany (moderator)


Networking dinner – Limburg Circular Hotspot & Innovation Vall
Location: Kasteel Limbricht 


Shuttle service to network dinner

The shuttle service will depart at 17:30 from the Brightlands Chemelot Campus, short stop for pick up at the Van der Valk hotel Stein-Urmond and will then drive to the dinner location: Kasteel Limbricht. 


  • Ms. Claudia Deben -  Director Province of Limburg
  • Mr. Jo Peters -  President Board Chemelot Circular Hub

Subsidized by:

Logo PL kleur RGB

Thursday 30 November 2023

09:00 - 11:00

Business modelling & blended finance for industrial-urban symbiosis – Hubs4Circularity

  • Ms. Angels Orduna - Executive Director A.SPIRE
  • Mr. Frank Berkers - Senior Scientist Strategic Business Analysis TNO / Professor Business for Societal Transition at Rotterdam University of Applied Sciences
  • Mr. Maurice Olivers - Public Relations Manager Brightlands Circular Space /  Brightlands Chemelot Campus
  • Prof. Dr. Hannes Utikal, Head of the Center for Industry and Sustainability, Provadis Hochschule, representing the Hoechst Industrial Park.
  • Mr. Per Møller- Head of Kalundborg Symbiosis Denmark
  • Dr. Tjerk Wardenaar - Managing Consultant Environment EGEN
  • Mr. Thomas van den Nieuwenhuizen - Consultant Environment EGEN


  • Mr.  Christophe Pinck - Chair Hubs 4 Circularity Community of Practice /  International affairs and EU-Advisor Eyde Cluster (moderator)
  • Mr. Ron Weerdmeester -  European Innovation Manager PNO (moderator)

11:00 - 11:15

Coffee break

11.15 - 12:45

Transition finance in practice in the EU: key messages on to do’s & work in progress

  • Ms. Angels Orduna - Executive Director A.SPIRE
  • Prof. Dr. Kevin van Geem - Professor Laboratory for Chemical Technology Ghent University
  • Mr. Ralph Jansen - Investment Manager Polestar Capital
  • Ms. Elia Trippel - Special advisor to the Directors Environment Directorate OECD
  • Dr. Tony Rooke - Executive Director, former Head of Transition Finance Glasgow Financial Alliance for Net Zero


  • Mr. Frans Stokman - Executive Director of Petrochemicals Europe (moderator)


Cefic & A.SPIRE


cefic_Colour transparent png

12:45 - 14:00


12:45 - 14:00

Bustour Chemelot Industrial Park (lunch included)

  • The bus will leave in front of Center Court
  • Lunch boxes will be provided
  • Duration: one hour


  • Mr. Frank Schaap – Director Business Development Chemelot Industrial Park
Chemelot_blauwrozegroen met pay-off_CMYK

14.00 - 15:30

Boosting finance for green chemistry - initiatives and practices from the Netherlands and beyond

  • Mr. Arnold Stokking - President Platform Green Chemistry New Economy
  • Ms. Angelique Erkenbosch - Senior Business Developer Circular Innovationquarter
  • Ms. Martine Rousseau - Business Developer LIOF
  • Ms. Chantal Schrijver – Head of EIB Group Representation in the Netherlands
  • Ms. Nathalie Binet – Climate Officer EIB
  • Mr. Guy de Sévaux – Lead Biobased & Circular Economy InvestNL
  • Ms. Marissa de Boer - CEO Susphos
  • Ms. Sylwia Sztark - Head of Unit Department of Regional Development and European Funds & Representative European Chemical Regions Network of Mazovia Region, Poland
  • Ms Jacqueline Vaessen - Lead ChemistryNL


  • Ms. Kirsten Paulus (moderator)


Dutch Platform Green Chemistry New Economy (Platform Groene Chemie Nieuwe Economie)

Groene Chemie

15:30 - 18:00

Cocktail drinks